adoption, family

The Weight of the World

It takes a village to raise a family. Logically I know this, but sometimes I don’t ask for help. I’m not sure why. My family life is complicated. Sometimes it feels like it will take an army rather than a village!  I’m protective over our children because not everyone understands their trauma. I’m hesitant to let others into our little world (outside the bogging community…obviously!)

After injuring my back at work, I’m starting to see how much I can’t do on my own. This scares me. 

At church this Sunday, our Reverand prayed over me. She offered prayers of healing for my back. It went something like this:

“Dear Lord, please help Abigail heal. She carries the weight of so many on her back. The weight of work, the weight of her family, the weight of responsibility. Heal her and watch over her. Amen.”

The Reverand is right. Sometimes it feels like the weight of the world. Parenting is hard work. Work is hard work. Heck, being a grown-up is hard work! The thing is, I’m not alone on this journey. I have a strong and loving family. 

Over the holidays my parents made the journey from the mid-west to our little New England town. They sold their house. They left their friends and their church behind. They came with their cat to live in a house they’d seen only on the internet. They did it for our family. For me. 

My mom has flown out to visit us in the past. She’s offered me backup when we were in crisis mode. She’s visited Mary in the psychiatric unit of the hospital with me. My mother has seen the Littles rage and anger. She also sees their love and creativity. She has never once questioned their place in this family. She just loves us, warts and all! 

My parents now live about ten minutes away from us on the other side of town. They come for dinner, we go to church together, and they take our Littles occasionally to give Luke and I some alone time. My step-dad makes “black cows” for the kids with coke and ice cream. My mother reads aloud to them as she did for me so long ago. My husband takes my step-father to doctor’s appointments. It’s family. We aren’t alone out here, not anymore. 

I can’t tell you how much it means to me to have my mommy when I’m hurt like this. She’s offered to drive me places or come with me to work. She keeps me company when I’m stuck at home. Sometimes she makes me coffee with a bit of Kaulua in it. She loves me. When I’m with her I am reminded of a time when I was safe and small and someone else made the tough decisions. 

Luke and I are not alone. I don’t have to carry all of the weight on my back. For now, my body is telling me to slow down. I’m hurt but I have my family. 

I only hope that one day I can be the kind of mom who radiates safety and love. I want to be the mom who shares the weight of the world. When I finally grow up? I want to be just like my mom. 

**Names have been changed to protect the privacy of those involved. 

Standard

7 thoughts on “The Weight of the World

  1. deansandrazmm says:

    I am so glad your mom is nearby and able to help out. Deans parents are about the only people we feel comfortable leaving our children with. They have been such a blessing

    Like

    • I’m glad you have your “village.” Not many many people know about trauma. I didn’t really and truly understand it until we got our kids. We were so lucky I have parents that wanted to learn!

      Like

  2. How lovely that they moved to be with you. I imagine it works both ways and you bring them joy too. My parents live a train ride away and visit twice a week. I don’t know what I would do without them but they say my daughter is what keeps them going 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Don’t Wipe Your Nose on Papa | Herding Chickens and Other Adventures in Foster and Adoptive Care

  4. Pingback: Contingency Plan: In Case I Don’t Make It | Herding Chickens and Other Adventures in Foster and Adoptive Care

  5. Pingback: Disconnected Parenting and Other TBRI Misadventures | Herding Chickens and Other Adventures in Foster and Adoptive Care

Leave a Reply

